Birds

When creating tiki atmosphere, one should never overlook the value of birds. Sure, hula girls and tiki heads have their place, but nothing suggests the natural beauty of Polynesia in a graceful yet kitschy way like a bunch of tropical birds. Also monkeys. But especially birds. Anyone who’s been to the Enchanted Tiki Room at Disneyland knows that the right birds can create the perfect mood. And anyone who’s been to the Enchanted Tiki Room at Disney World knows that the wrong birds can destroy it.

Yes, I have considered opinions on Disney theme park attractions. I am one of those people.

Anyway, I’ve taken special care in selecting birds for my future tiki office. I got this bookend at Jamie’s Flea Market (“Northern Ohio’s Largest Flea Market”) in Amherst, Ohio while Andrew and I were home for the holidays last year.

And this guy came from the storied Ashby Flea Market here in Berkeley. He cost $1.50, he opens bottles, and he is my favorite guy.

I mean, look at this guy! How great is he? This is one of my very favorite tiki things. When it comes time to choose beloved objects to infuse with pieces of my soul so that I can never die, I’m making this bird my first horcrux.

My second horcrux will be this 1960s wrestling magazine featuring an interview with the Fabulous Moolah.

And my third horcrux will be a kitty, because that will make me unstoppable.

That’s right: my love for this cast-iron tropical bird is so deep it can only be expressed through wrestling magazines and Harry Potter fanart. If that’s not the kind of love you can understand, please enjoy my cat getting into a box while I was taking these pictures.

Because cats in boxes make everything better. Thanks, cat!

In other news, remember the fantastic watercolor hula girl by Kostas Kiriakakis in last week’s post?  My friend Brian Kolm got some pictures of Kostas creating this illustration at the San Diego Comic-Con.

You can sample Brian’s own art, including, yes, tiki stuff, at Atomic Bear Press.  Thanks, Brian!  And thanks again, Kostas!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Birds

  1. Kathryn Garrity

    Shaenon, this is pure joy for a mother’s soul. Keep on.

  2. Pingback: Bookshelves, Birds and Pepper | Tiki Weekend

Leave a Reply

