Mary Blair

I don’t want to give the impression that I’m some kind of maladjusted obsessive with an unhealthy fixation on tiki.  I have an unhealthy fixation on many things.  These include, but are not limited to, midcentury modern pottery, pro wrestling, pulp sci-fi of the 1970s, Muppets, and Disney concept artist and “It’s a Small World” designer Mary Blair.  Witness my shelf of souvenirs from the Mary Blair art show I worked on in Japan a couple of years ago.

Now this, this is a fixation.

Naturally, I often dream of combining my obsessions, but, aside from the occasional space Muppet wrestling match, the opportunity doesn’t often arise.  But last week I went searching for Mary Blair advertising art, and the streams crossed.

The other tiki stuff was a gift this weekend from my friend Evelyn.  She also got me a new tiki guy.

 

Look at this great guy!  (And a bunch of little Jonny Quest drawings, but that’s another story and shall be told another time.)  He will be a valuable addition to my growing tiki army.

Meanwhile, here’s a closer look at my Mary Blair/tiki crossover moment.

If it weren’t freezing right now, I’d really be in the mood for a Tropic Cooler.  Thanks, Mary Blair!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mary Blair

  1. Laura

    Please type in the recipe. I want to try it!

    • It’s basically lime sherbet with lime juice, sparkling water, and a slice of lime. I’m not entirely sure what makes it tropical, to be honest. But if you like limes, dig in!

Leave a Reply

