Bookshelves, Birds and Pepper

Recently I’ve started to get serious about accumulating furniture for my future tiki bar/office.  Bookshelves are of paramount importance.  Which is why I was so happy to find this bamboo baby at the you-have-to-see-it-to-believe-it Urban Ore Ecopark.

Fellow Bay Area tikiphiles, when I was there last week, Urban Ore also had an actual tiki bar with barstools.  Sadly, I was forced to admit that I could not afford it, had no room for it at home, and, as a non-car-owner, did not have any way to get it from Urban Ore to my house.  Andrew carried the bookshelf on his back.  He is a patient man with wiry strength.

The top-shelf decor is, of course, all from my increasingly excessive and unwieldy collection.

Most of the tiki guys have made cameos in previous posts.  The awesome bottle came from the legendary Oceanic Arts in L.A., which was part of the tiki tour with Tom Gammill I mentioned last week.

Meanwhile, I am enjoying my Christmas gifts and have nothing but thanks to everyone who gifted me with tiki stuff.  You remember how much I like birds, right?  Well, look what my mom gave me!

This lovely 1978 Avon perfume bottle came from a flea market in Ohio.  According to the label on the bottom, it used to contain a scent called “Island Parakeet.”  My mom warned me never to open it, because the Island Parakeet residue has not aged well.

As an admirer of tropical bird kitsch and the owner of the prettiest and smartest feral parakeet in the whole wide world, I love this guy.  When I opened the package at Christmas, I was so excited by my Island Parakeet that I kissed it over and over.  Of course, we’d all been drinking a lot by that time.

And check this out!

The Balinese mask and volcano bowl (from the Tiki Lounge in Pittsburgh) are gifts from my brother Conor, and are awesome.  Conor surprised me by paying the deposit on the volcano bowl so we could keep it at the end of the evening, along with about a billion smaller tiki mugs.

As for the item at left, if you were just looking at the photo and thinking, “Wow!  An electric pepper grinder shaped like an Easter Island moai!” you are correct and have excellent taste.  Honestly, I can no longer remember how I managed to cook without a big tiki head that shoots pepper when you squeeze its nose.

Mmm!  Thank you, Aunt Kerry!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

