Only the Greatest Tiki Glasses Ever

For a while now, I’ve longed to add one of the glass goblets from Walt Disney World’s Polynesian Village Resort (now just the Polynesian Resort) to my collection, but one mighty force has stood in my way: Disney collectors.  Those people are dedicated and ruthless and covered in Little Mermaid tattoos.  The frosted goblets, with a smiling tiki face on one side and a frowning face on the other, typically go for ten to fifteen bucks on eBay, which is more than I’m willing to pay for a single tiki glass that doesn’t feature a secretly topless 1940s hula girl.

But last weekend, at the always exciting and frequently baffling Community Thrift Store in the SF Mission District, the tiki gods smiled upon me and frowned upon my Disney-collecting competition, and I found these waiting in all their glory.

FOUR DISNEY POLYNESIAN GOBLETS

FOUR

THEY WERE $1.75 APIECE

AAAAAAAAAAAAAH

I’d like to say that this find taught me the wisdom of thrifty tiki shopping, but I’m afraid that I immediately took the money I’d saved to the Alameda Antique Fair and spent it on this:

AAAAAAAAAAAAAH

AAAAAAAAAAAAAH

THEY ARE THE BOSSEST AND SWEETEST AAAAAAAAAAAAAH

Hurm.  These mugs belong to the same line as the Siesta Ware pastel glasses featured in the earlier Tiki Weekend post linked above.  The glasses seem to be fairly common, but this is the first time I’ve come across the mugs.

All six of them.

In their original packaging.

All pastel and ’60s like they belong in the coral-colored sink of the Barbie Dream Kitchen.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAH

I have to go lie down now.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Only the Greatest Tiki Glasses Ever

  1. Andrew Kunz

    Just a question: Where are you going to put all of these mugs? It looks like you’ve got more mugs than at a typical hole in the wall bar.

  2. Truly, this woman is the Queen of Tiki.

Leave a Reply

