The Shark King

As anyone who knows me can attest, my obsession with tiki pales before my obsession with comic books.  So obviously tiki comic books are the apotheosis of everything.  Which is why I’m so happy to receive this children’s comic from Toon Books.

R. Kikuo Johnson’s 2005 graphic novel The Night Fisher, set in his native Hawaii, is gorgeous. In The Shark King, Johnson returns to a Hawaiian setting with a story based on a traditional folk tale.  A folk tale about kids with man-eating shark heads growing out of their backs.  Folk tales are the best.

Plus there’s Johnson’s lovely linework and dramatic contrasts.  He’s just a fantastic artist and storyteller.

So thank you, R. Kikuo Johnson, for an excellent children’s book and another gorgeous addition to my Hawaiian comics library.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Shark King

  1. Diet Sunkist

    I like that black statue, it looks constipated.

  2. Diet Sunkist

    I read this post again and noticed the cup thingies made a reappearance. What are they for?! It’s bugging the heck out of me.

Leave a Reply

